Lamberts Road in Surbiton is shut 24 hours to 13 November and Hook Road signals run to 25 October. Every live Kingston job, the new ones and the weekend trains.
Lamberts Road in Surbiton is now closed 24 hours a day, and will stay shut until Friday 13 November for UK Power Networks cabling. It closed on Wednesday 7 October and is the longest closure in the borough this autumn. It is one leg of the same cable route that has had Hook Road, Surbiton under signals and directional closures since March, now listed to 25 October.
Union Street in Kingston is still listed as closed around the clock, and as overrunning. SGN’s gas main job started on 31 August and was due to finish on 27 September. The council’s confirmed roadworks list gives Friday 9 October as the end date, but that list has not been updated since 2 October, so we cannot confirm the street will reopen on time.
In New Malden, Dickerage Lane is shut at the Warwick Road junction, also listed to Friday 9 October, while Thames Water repairs a collapsed sewer.
The Portsmouth Road closure in Surbiton is still off the list. In September the council showed SGN shutting Portsmouth Road from The Mall to Simpsons Way from 5 October to 19 November. That entry vanished from the 2 October edition with no explanation, and on 8 October we could still find no first-party SGN notice for it. We cannot say whether it was postponed, cancelled or moved. The council does list two short sets of signals on Portsmouth Road at the Kingston end (see below).
What is live right now
| Road | Restriction | Until |
|---|---|---|
| Union Street, Kingston | Closed 24hrs, SGN main replacement, overrunning | 9 Oct |
| Dickerage Lane, New Malden | Closed 24hrs at the Warwick Road junction, Thames Water emergency sewer repair | 9 Oct |
| Leatherhead Road (A243), Chessington | Signals at the Chalky Lane junction, UK Power Networks | 11 Oct |
| Portsmouth Road, Kingston | Multi-way signals 24hrs near Uxbridge Road, new gully pots and tree root cutting | 13 Oct |
| Queen Elizabeth Road, Kingston | Lane closed 24hrs outside number 7, footway closed with a pedestrian walkway, new UK Power Networks supply | 14 Oct |
| Kingston Road (A2043), New Malden | Multi-way signals 24hrs, Dickerage Lane to Beresford Road, segregation kerbs. TfL's record for the signals ends at 4pm on 9 Oct | 19 Oct |
| Hook Road (A243) at the A3, Chessington | Southbound restrictions at Hook Rise North, UK Power Networks | 24 Oct |
| Leatherhead Road (A243), Chessington | Signals northbound at Garrison Lane | 25 Oct |
| Hook Road, Surbiton | Multi-way signals and directional closures at various points, UK Power Networks | 25 Oct |
| Villiers Road, Kingston | Multi-way signals 24hrs, Dawson Road to Portland Road, UK Power Networks | 28 Oct |
| Villiers Avenue, Surbiton | Two-way signals 24hrs near Cheyne Hill, UK Power Networks | 4 Nov |
| Lamberts Road, Surbiton | Closed 24hrs, UK Power Networks cabling | 13 Nov |
| Ditton, Hollyfield and Kingsdowne Roads, Surbiton | Signals and closures at the Ewell Road junctions, new cycle route | 25 Jan 2027 |
The Chessington entries are on TfL’s own register, so they appear on TfL’s disruption feed and not on the council’s list. We read that feed on the morning of 8 October; TfL had updated every Kingston record late on 7 October.
What has changed since our update on 6 October:
- Leatherhead Road signals northbound between Fairoak Lane and Rushett Lane, which TfL had given as ending on 6 October, were extended. TfL’s record now ends at 5pm on Thursday 8 October
- the overnight A3 Beverley Way southbound lane closures, booked for the night of 6 to 7 October, have finished and are off TfL’s register
- Queen Elizabeth Road has started, as listed, on 8 October
- the High Street SGN emergency signals outside Al Forno are still on the council’s list with an end date of 5 October. That date has passed and the list has not been updated since, so we cannot confirm whether the signals have gone
Coming in the next fortnight
- Portsmouth Road, Kingston: multi-way signals 24 hours outside Marlowe House, 12 to 20 October, brickwork repair, a cover change and root cutting
- Cambridge Road, Kingston: multi-way signals 24 hours at the Hampden Road junction, 19 October to 2 November, segregation kerbs
- Kingston Hill: two-way signals 24 hours near George Road, 19 to 29 October, BT chamber works
- Galsworthy Road, Kingston: multi-way signals 24 hours at the Coombe Lane West junction, 22 October to 11 November, with a footway closure, for sewer connections to a development
Just beyond that, TfL is cutting traffic loops on Tolworth Broadway near the filling station on Friday 23 October, with a lane closed.
The three corridors to plan around
Kingston town centre and Norbiton are the first. Union Street is listed as closed to 9 October, Queen Elizabeth Road has lost a lane to 14 October, and from 19 October Cambridge Road and Kingston Hill both get 24 hour signals at the same time, with Galsworthy Road following on 22 October.
Surbiton is the second. The UK Power Networks cable route now runs through four roads at once:
- Hook Road: signals and directional closures until 25 October, as it has since March
- Villiers Road: signals between Dawson Road and Portland Road until 28 October
- Villiers Avenue: signals near Cheyne Hill until 4 November
- Lamberts Road: closed 24 hours until 13 November
The A243 through Chessington is the third. TfL lists three longer sets of works on the same road:
- southbound restrictions at the A3 Hook Rise North junction, record TIMS-233906, to 24 October
- signals northbound at Garrison Lane, to 25 October
- signals at Chalky Lane, to 11 October
The Fairoak Lane to Rushett Lane signals, a fourth job on the same road, are booked to come off at 5pm on 8 October.
The trains: Berrylands is open again
Berrylands station reopened on Monday 28 September. National Rail’s station page, updated 29 September, says the station “has now reopened” after its upgrade to widen the platforms, and shows no current notices. It lists the ticket office as open on weekday mornings, 6:20am to 10:10am. It also shows the station as having no step-free access to the platforms.
The station had been closed since May for new, wider platforms. South Western Railway’s upgrade page, updated on 29 September, lists what else went in:
- new lighting and CCTV
- customer information screens and help points
- waiting shelters on both platforms
One thing has not been fixed. Surveys during the rebuild found that parts of the substructures of both original staircases had significantly deteriorated. Those staircases stay closed. Passengers are using temporary staircases while SWR assesses whether to refurbish or replace the originals, and it has given no date for that decision. Our full story has the detail.
The next four weekends of engineering work
- Saturday 10 and Sunday 11 October: the Staines area is closed. Reading trains are diverted and call at Surbiton on both days. On Sunday the Waterloo to Kingston via Hounslow trains run all day but terminate at Hounslow. The Guildford area is also closed, so Waterloo to Guildford via Cobham trains, which call at Surbiton, terminate at Effingham Junction, with buses on to Guildford
- Sunday 18 October: the Twickenham area closes all day. The Waterloo roundabout service via Richmond and Kingston starts from Shepperton, and the afternoon and evening Kingston via Hounslow trains do not run. Buses run between Barnes and Teddington via Richmond. The Guildford area is closed again, with the same Effingham Junction change
- Saturday 24 and Sunday 25 October: the Staines area closes again, and Reading trains are once more diverted via Surbiton
- Saturday 31 October and Sunday 1 November: the Staines area closes for a third time, and SWR again lists Reading trains diverted between Clapham Junction and Virginia Water, calling additionally at Surbiton
Full detail is on South Western Railway’s September and October engineering work page.
Resurfacing: four roads still waiting
The council resurfaces a named list of roads each year and writes to affected households 5 to 10 days before work starts. Its 2026 to 2027 schedule shows every dated job as Completed, the last being Claremont Road on 7 to 9 September. Park Road, from Kingston Hill to Princes Road, is still “Postponed TBC”. Four roads are waiting on a date:
- Fullers Way North to Red Lion Road, night work, rescheduled
- Burney Avenue, Minniedale to Clayhill Halls
- Green Lane, Garrison Lane to Hunting Gate Drive
- Somerset Avenue, Hook Road to Selwood Road
The two council pages do not match. Garrison Lane, The Triangle, Dickerage Road and Kenley Road were all booked for carriageway resurfacing between 24 and 29 September on the roadworks list. None of the four has ever appeared on the resurfacing schedule. If you want warning of work on your own road, the roadworks list is the page to watch.
Two further details matter if your road comes up. The council can stop utility companies digging a resurfaced road for up to two years afterwards, using a Section 58 notice. And in hot weather it may keep a closure in place until 7pm to let the surface set, so the reopening time on the letter is not a promise.
What changes in January 2027
Kingston is introducing a Lane Rental Scheme on 11 January 2027, with a four-week trial from 9 November to 7 December 2026. It lets the council charge utility companies and contractors £1,000 to £2,500 a day for working on the busiest roads at the busiest times, covering roughly 12.5% of the borough’s highway network.
The point is to push work into evenings, weekends and quieter roads, and to make firms co-ordinate rather than dig the same street twice. Discounts of up to 100% are available for nationally important work or schemes that reduce future disruption. From 5 January 2027 half the income goes back into highway maintenance and half into a lane rental fund. Whether it shortens jobs like Union Street’s overrun is the thing to watch.
Parking: what it actually costs
Ten council car parks serve the borough, and the price range between them is wide enough to be worth knowing before you set off.
| Car park | Per hour | Spaces | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blagdon Road, New Malden | £1.00 | 108 | Only open 7:45am to 3pm, 10:45am Sundays. Both lifts still out of order |
| Hook Community Centre | £1.40 | 18 | Free Sundays and bank holidays, 4 hour maximum |
| Malden Centre | £2.10 | 83 | £2.20 flat rate from 6:30pm |
| Canbury Place | £2.70 | not stated | £16.00 day cap over six hours, open 24 hours |
| Rose | £2.70 | 417 | £16.00 day cap, pay on exit |
| Bittoms | £2.70 | not stated | £16.00 day cap, multi-storey closes 7pm |
| Ashdown | £3.30 | 168 | 4 minute walk to the centre, 1.8m height limit on the Ashdown Road entrance |
| Neville House | £3.30 | 32 | 2 minute walk, no height restriction |
Three things follow from that table. Blagdon Road in New Malden, at £1.00 an hour, is under a third of Ashdown’s price, though it shuts at 3pm every day and both of its lifts are out of order, which the council still flagged on 19 September. Most of the town-centre car parks charge a flat £3.80 from 7pm to 7am, so an evening out is cheap wherever you leave the car. And the multi-storeys carry a £50 release fee if you leave a vehicle in after closing, which is the expensive way to find out that Bittoms shuts at 7pm.
Four of the council’s ten car parks are also allocated for redevelopment in the borough’s draft Local Plan: Ashdown Road, Bittoms, Canbury Place and the Cattle Market surface car park. That consultation closed on 4 September, so the sites are now a matter for the council’s response to the comments it received.
The council warns that QR code parking scams are circulating in Kingston. There are three legitimate ways to pay and scanning a QR code sticker is not one of them. Report a suspicious code to APCOA on 07974 296852.
Getting in without driving
With Lamberts Road shut to 13 November and three sets of works on the A243, the train is often the better answer, and every borough station is inside the TfL zones so contactless works. Surbiton reaches Waterloo in 17 minutes and New Malden in 24. Full times, zones and fares are on our Kingston train times page.
Kingston station has no car park of its own, so anyone driving to the train is using a council car park anyway. Canbury Place is the nearest all-day option, and it is a few minutes from the Ancient Market and the rest of the town centre.
Frequently asked questions
Is Union Street in Kingston open?
Not yet, according to the council. It has been closed 24 hours a day since 31 August for SGN gas main replacement. It was due to reopen on 27 September, but the council’s list marks it as overrunning and gives Friday 9 October 2026 as the new end date. That list was last updated on 2 October, so check it again before relying on the reopening.
Is Portsmouth Road in Surbiton closing?
The council no longer lists it. Its 18 September edition showed a 24 hour closure from The Mall to Simpsons Way, 5 October to 19 November, for SGN. The 2 October edition, still the latest on 8 October, does not include it and gives no reason, and we found no SGN notice for it, so we cannot say whether it was postponed or cancelled. The council does list signals on Portsmouth Road near Uxbridge Road to 13 October and outside Marlowe House from 12 to 20 October.
Is Berrylands station open?
Yes, since Monday 28 September 2026. National Rail shows no current notices and the ticket office open on weekday mornings. Passengers use temporary staircases, because the two original staircases were found to have deteriorated and remain closed while South Western Railway decides whether to refurbish or replace them.
Is the A243 Hook Road closed?
Not fully. TfL records southbound restrictions at the A3 Hook Rise North junction until 24 October 2026, for UK Power Networks. There are also signals further south on Leatherhead Road at Garrison Lane (to 25 October) and Chalky Lane (to 11 October).
When is Lamberts Road closed?
It is closed now. It shut on Wednesday 7 October and stays closed 24 hours a day until Friday 13 November 2026, for UK Power Networks to install large power cabling.
Is Dickerage Lane in New Malden closed?
Yes, at the junction with Warwick Road, 24 hours a day from 28 September to 9 October 2026, while Thames Water repairs a collapsed sewer. Separately, Kingston Road has signals from Dickerage Lane to Beresford Road until 19 October.
Is Ewell Road in Surbiton still dug up?
The council’s list no longer shows it. Its 11 September edition gave the Ewell Road cabling works to 28 October, but neither the 18 September nor the 2 October edition mentions Ewell Road, and the council has not said why. The separate cycle route works at the Ditton, Hollyfield and Kingsdowne Road junctions with Ewell Road continue to 25 January 2027.
When will the Kingston cable works finish?
The UK Power Networks project was given an 18 to 24 month duration from September 2025. The current legs are Hook Road, Surbiton (to 25 October), Villiers Road (to 28 October), Villiers Avenue (to 4 November) and Lamberts Road (closed to 13 November).
Where can I check current Kingston roadworks?
The council’s confirmed roadworks list is updated regularly, and the one.network map is searchable by postcode up to 12 months ahead. For the A3, the A240, the A243 and other red routes, use TfL traffic status, which is the only place the Chessington works appear.
What is the cheapest car park in the Kingston borough?
Blagdon Road in New Malden at £1.00 an hour, though it only opens 7:45am to 3pm on weekdays and Saturdays and 10:45am on Sundays. Hook Community Centre is £1.40 an hour and free on Sundays and bank holidays.
When is my road being resurfaced?
Check the council’s resurfacing schedule. If your road is on it, you will get a letter 5 to 10 days beforehand. Be aware that the schedule is not complete: four roads resurfaced between 24 and 29 September appeared only on the roadworks list.
What is the Kingston lane rental scheme?
From 11 January 2027 the council can charge utilities £1,000 to £2,500 a day to work on the busiest 12.5% of the borough’s roads at peak times, to push work into quieter hours. A four-week trial runs from 9 November 2026.
Sources
- Current roadworks list, Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames, still showing “last updated 02 October 2026” when read on 8 October, for every council-listed scheme, its restriction and its dates, and the 18 September edition for the Portsmouth Road, Surbiton entry that has since been removed.
- TfL road disruptions, read on the morning of 8 October 2026 (records last updated late on 7 October), for the A243 Hook Road record TIMS-233906, the Leatherhead Road signals at Chalky Lane (TIMS-234443), Garrison Lane (TIMS-234473) and Fairoak Lane to Rushett Lane (TIMS-235225), and the A2043 Kingston Road signals (TIMS-231314). The A3 Beverley Way record (TIMS-235794) was no longer listed.
- Berrylands station, National Rail, updated 29 September and read 8 October, for the reopening, the absence of current notices, the ticket office hours and step-free access.
- Berrylands station upgrade, South Western Railway, updated 29 September 2026, for the works carried out and the staircases.
- September and October engineering work, South Western Railway read 8 October, for the Staines, Guildford and Twickenham area closures on 10, 11, 18, 24 and 25 October and 31 October and 1 November.
- Road resurfacing schedule 2026 to 2027, read 8 October and unchanged, for the status column, the Park Road postponement, the notification period and Section 58 notices.
- Lane Rental Scheme for the start date, trial, charges and use of income.
- Council car parks and the individual car park pages for tariffs, spaces, opening hours and the Blagdon Road lift notice, checked 19 September 2026.
Roadworks dates move. Confirm against the council’s list before planning a journey around them.
Have your say